Bacon-Wrapped Cheese-Stuffed Chicken

I recently had to quit my job due to medical reasons and have applied for disability.  I have a 4-6 month wait before they send me their decision on whether they deem me disabled.  I start school on August 22nd for my bachelors in clinical psychology, but being out of work gives me plenty of free time I need to do something with.

In an attempt to eat more well-rounded meals rather than ramen, pasta, and pb&j like the poor college student I am, I have started finding recipes on Pinterest and creating 2 week meal plans.  I love cooking, but previously I didn’t have enough time and my pain levels after work were too high to move.  My days off were always spent at doctors or recovering, so finding time and ability to actually cook wasn’t easy.

Well, on Thursday I did my shopping and stocked the fridge and pantry and on Friday night, I made bacon-wrapped cheese-stuffed chicken with garlic parmesan roasted broccoli.  These are definitely dishes I would make again.  Delicious!!

For any fellow cooks who follow my blog, here are the recipes.  Their titles are links to the original websites the Pinterest pins took me to for the recipes.

Bacon-Wrapped Cheese-Stuffed Chicken
Prep Time: 10 min (if you’re slow at trimming fat off the chicken like me, this is MUCH longer)
Cook Time:  35 min
Total Time: 45 min
Servings: 4 Servings
AuthorLalaine

Ingredients
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1 pound (4 four-ounces each) boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 8 slices thin cut bacon
  • paprika to taste
  • 1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped

Directions

  1. In a bowl, combine cream cheese and cheddar cheese. Form into about 2 to 3-inch length and 1/2-inch thickness (make sure they will fit the cut you make on the chicken).
  2. Wrap each cheese log in plastic film and freeze for about 10 to 15 minutes or until firm.

  3. Trim chicken of any excess fat. Make a small slit on top of meat, but not cutting all the way through.

  4.  Insert cheese log into the slit.

  5. Wrap chicken with bacon and place in a single layer on a cast iron skillet or baking dish.

  6. Season with paprika to taste and sprinkle with chopped parsley.

  7. Bake in a 400 F oven for about 30 to 35 minutes or until thermometer inserted in center of chicken reads 165 F.

  8. Broil for about 1 to 2 minutes or until bacon slightly crisps. Serve hot.

     

Garlic Parmesan Roasted Broccoli
Prep Time: 5 min
Cook Time: 10 min
Total Time:  15 min
Servings:  6 servings (3-4 servings is more accurate, depending on how much you like broccoli)
Author:  Website did not provide author for credit

Ingredients

  • 24 ounces broccoli florets (equal to about 5 cups)
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan
  • Juice of 1 lemon (I just used La Fe Lemon Juice)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Lightly oil a baking sheet or coat with nonstick spray.
  2. Place broccoli florets in a single layer onto the prepared baking sheet. Add olive oil and garlic; season with salt and pepper, to taste. Gently toss to combine.
  3. Place into oven and bake for 10-12 minutes, or until tender.
  4. Serve immediately, sprinkled with Parmesan and lemon juice.

 

If you try them, let me know what you thought!  If you have a recipe recommendation, leave it in the comments as well!

Leave a Reply

