Enrolled in School!

I had orientation for school today and am now registered for classes full-time!  I’m really excited because I’m starting my bachelor’s degree for clinical psychology.  I need 9 books for 4 classes though!  It’s insane!  The second best idea my mother ever had (after getting me unlimited texting as soon as she got me my first cell phone) was buying me the rolling backpack when I started community college back in 2009.  I was a stupid 19 year old and argued with her because “a rolling backpack isn’t cool.”  I am now thanking her profusely because that stupid rolling backpack is going to save my life as I traverse my new campus, which is basically a small city, especially since I have severe arthritis in my knees and 2 herniated discs in my back.

I am very nervous about restarting school, though.  The classes I’m used to contained about 30-40 students.  These classes are about 400-450 students.  I guess I always thought the depictions of gigantic classrooms in the movies were exaggerations or just for Ivy League colleges like Harvard or Yale. I really hope I am able to continuously get the front row because otherwise I won’t be able to see anything!  I have a corrective lens prescription of -9.75 (For those that don’t know what that means, I literally can’t see farther than an inch away from my face clearly without contacts or glasses.  Though correction definitely helps, my vision will always be far from perfect and I still have trouble seeing things at a distance).

Not only that, but my social anxiety keeps telling me I won’t make any friends and I’ll be crazy lonely and just seen as that weird nerd who does nothing but study all the time.  I hope I’ll find some people to talk to there after a bit.  I didn’t have much luck with that at my last school, so hopefully here will be easier.

I start classes on August 22nd, so the countdown begins!

Leave a Reply

